ELA Award

CargoX and MTS win the 2023 ELA Award – Project of the year

December 13, 2023

(Paris, 12 December 2023) – The NAFEZA single window trade solution with the CargoX Platform for Blockchain Document Transfer has won the prestigious ELA Award, conferred by the European Logistics Association at an event in Paris, hosted by France Supply Chain by Aslog, one of the founding members of ELA.

NAFEZA was developed by MTS and is the result of a dedicated drive towards digitalisation in Egyptian imports. The integration with the CargoX Platform for Blockchain Document Transfer (BDT) has made it possible for companies to transfer documents and verify their identity using a completely neutral, decentralised and highly secure environment. This has resulted in major savings in time and money for importers, exporters, freight forwarders and other involved parties, while government revenue has increased by 13% in the first year alone.

The solution is streamlined and easy to use, and has already been adopted by 116 thousand businesses and organisations who use it on a daily basis, and have already transferred more than 5.5 million documents through the platform. The success of NAFEZA and the CargoX Platform for BDT has already encouraged other governments to implement similar systems, with CargoX already bringing its expertise to the upcoming customs systems of Uganda and Abu Dhabi.

“CargoX has provided a cutting-edge solution to a problem that has been a part of doing business for many years, even centuries. NAFEZA expedites trade and logistics and introduces a level of trust among business partners that had not been possible before,” said Prof. Dr. Markus Mau, President of the European Logistics Association.

Igor Jakomin, deputy CEO of CargoX, accepted the award at the event in Paris, saying:

"We are extremely proud of this award, as it is further proof that we have taken the right course, building towards a better future. I would like to thank our partners at MTS and our whole team at CargoX, who made this possible, as well as the Slovenian Logistics Association for recognising the potential in the CargoX and MTS  solution that paved the way towards us winning the ELA Award.

CargoX was nominated for the European Logistics Association’s 2023 ELA Award after winning Slovenian Logistic Association’s Logistics Project Award in October 2022. The CargoX and MTS solution was selected based on its complexity, originality, and usability.

About CargoX

CargoX is the world leading provider of the CargoX Platform for Blockchain Document Transfer (BDT), supporting creation, signing and transferring electronic trade documents in structured and unstructured format. The CargoX Platform reduces manual paperwork and administrative burdens. This leads to improved efficiency, enhanced agility and faster clearance times by participants in trade ecosystems, including exporters, importers, shippers, freight forwarders, air/sea carriers, ports & customs authorities and financial institutions, who participate in the import and export of goods.

About MTS

Misr Technology Services (MTS) is a trade & transport logistics platform provider, yet another of the Egyptian government’s strategic PPP realisation efforts. MTS is engaged in a 20-year contract to launch a national platform that covers Egyptian airports, seaports, land ports, and free zones in compliance with international standards and best practices. The target platform relies on ICT solutions and systems integration as a basis to provide electronic services, speedy automated procedures, and services of real business value to the trade community in a unified manner. 

About European Logistics Association

ELA Awards are conferred by the European Logistics Association, a federation of 22 national logistics associations, bringing together 55,000 logistics professionals. The goals of the association include promoting the logistics and supply chain profession by empowering the professional competencies, providing an international forum for networking, and promoting innovation and best practices in the European logistics & supply chain field. ELA Awards have been conferred to the most innovative projects in logistics since 2014, and previous winners include Nestlé-Pepsico, Skoda Auto AS, Bosch and dm Drogerie markt.